FR / EN
The Park and the Museums are open
to the public on Sundays, and during
holidays from 2PM to 6PM,
from March 15th till November 15th .

Musée

Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1


GASTON PALEWSKI MUSEUM

This museum includes exceptional documents: international medals, the key to the city of Venice, hand-written correspondence between Gaston Palewski and Charles de Gaulle.
Gaston Palewski, who was born on March 20, 1901 in Paris and died on September 3, 1984 at Le Château du Marais, is a French politician and diplomat of Polish origin, President of the “Conseil Constitutionel” from 1965 until 1974. Between 1924 and 1925, he was political attaché for the Cabinet of Marshal Lyautey in Rabat, then, from 1928, he became Principal Private Secretary to Paul Reynaud, including the Ministry of Finance. It is in this function that he met the future General de Gaulle in 1934. During the war he performed many military flights. He joined Charles de Gaulle in London in 1940. He participated in battles against the Italians in Ethiopia. He was Principal Private Secretary to General de Gaulle from 1942 until 1946. In 1951 he was elected Member of the RFP party, and from 1953 to 1955, he was Vice President of the National Assembly. He was Delegated Minister to Edgar Faure, President of the Council in charge of atomic affairs, Saharan affairs and defense coordination from February 23, 1955. He was promoting the second atomic plan. He resigned in October 1955, as a result of disagreement with the government policy in Algeria.
From 1965 to 1974, he was President of the Constitutional Council. In 1968 he was elected Member of the Academy of Fine Arts. From 1957 to 1962, he was French Ambassador to Italy. On April 14, 1962 Georges Pompidou appointed him Minister of State for Scientific Research and Nuclear and Space Issues, the positions he held until February 22, 1965. He was the first to hold this post.
In 1969, he married Helen-Violette de Talleyrand-Périgord, Duchess of Sagan (1915-2003), daughter of Helie, Duke of Talleyrand and Prince of Sagan (1859-1937) and Princess, born Anna Gould (1875 - 1961), after she divorced her husband Count de Pourtales. Between 1945 and 1974, he was the lover of the English novelist Nancy Mitford in London, who then came to live in Paris.
He exercised a great influence within the Gaullist circles and in the French government.

THE LITTERARY SALON OF MADAME DE LA BRICHE

The museum offers collections of paintings, costumes and relics dating from the days of the literary salon of Madame de La Briche. This event used to take place at the Château du Marais.
In fact, towards the end of May, Madame de La Briche used to stay at her summer quarters at Le Château du Marais until early October. Here, she hosted members of high society including the old lover of Sophie D'Holbach, the poet Jean-François de Saint-Lambert, the fabulist Florian - who speaks of the Marais as "the promised land" - Abbot Morellet, Jean-François de La Harpe, Suard, François-René de Chateaubriand. Her reciter, Laborie, also Caroline de Talleyrand’s preceptor, became Private Secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1804 before founding the Journal of Debates with his friend Louis-François Bertin. She managed to live through the French Revolution without the slightest concern, and died very old under the July Monarchy.


MUSEUM OF COURLAND

The museum has a large iconography which offers a journey through the history of France and a better understanding of the Talleyrand and Courland alliances.
In 1808, the lord of Valençay abandoned the princes of Spain in assigned residence to attend the secret meeting between Napoleon and Tsar Alexander I at Erfurt. There, he became acquainted with one of the most influential women of the St. Petersburg court, Anne Charlotte Dorothea Medem, widow of Peter Biron, Duke of Courland. Was it his aversion for Napoleonic excess or the intelligence and the charm of this woman still young at 47? Talleyrand once covertly prompted the Tsar to resist the French Emperor’s advances. And to seal their reconciliation, he negotiated his nephew Edmond’s marriage with the youngest of the mature and vivacious Duchess Dorothea’s four daughters, who was just over 15 years old: the union was celebrated in April 1809.

FR / EN
Visite du Parc et du musée
les dimanches et fêtes de 14h à 18h
du 15 Mars au 15 Novembre

Musée

Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1


Le musée de Gaston Palewski

Ce musée comprend des documents exceptionnels : médailles internationales, clé de la ville de Venise, correspondances manuscrites entre Gaston Palewski et Charles de Gaulle.
Gaston Palewski, né le 20 mars 1901 à Paris et mort le 3 septembre 1984 au château du Marais au Val-Saint-Germain dans l'Essonne, est un diplomate et homme politique français d'origine polonaise, président du Conseil constitutionnel de 1965 à 1974. Entre 1924 et 1925, il est l'attaché politique du cabinet du maréchal Lyautey à Rabat, puis, à partir de 1928, directeur de cabinet de Paul Reynaud, notamment au Ministères Finances. C'est dans cette fonction qu'il rencontre, en 1934, le futur général de Gaulle. Pendant la guerre, il effectue de nombreux vols militaires. Il rejoint Charles de Gaulle à Londres en 1940. Il participe ensuite aux combats contre les Italiens en Éthiopie. Il est directeur du cabinet du général de Gaulle de 1942 à 1946. En 1951, il est élu député RPF de la Seine et, de 1953 à 1955, il est vice-président de l'Assemblée nationale. Il est ministre délégué auprès du président du conseil Edgar Faure chargé des affaires atomiques, des affaires sahariennes et de la coordination de la Défense, à partir du 23 février 1955. Il est promoteur du second plan atomique. Il démissionne en octobre 1955, en désaccord avec la politique du gouvernement en Algerie.
De 1965 à 1974, il est président du Conseil constitutionnel. En 1968, il est élu membre de l'Académie des beaux-arts.De 1957 à 1962, il est ambassadeur de France en Italie. Le 14 avril 1962, il est appelé par Georges Pompidou au poste de ministre d'État chargé de la Recherche scientifique et des questions atomiques et spatiales, fonctions qu’il occupe jusqu’au 22 février 1965. Il est le premier à occuper ce poste1.
En 1969, il épouse Helen-Violette de Talleyrand-Périgord, duchesse de Sagan (1915-2003), fille d'Hélie, duc de Talleyrand et prince de Sagan(1859-1937) et de la princesse, née Anna Gould (1875-1961), après que celle-ci eut divorcé de son époux le comte de Pourtalès. Entre 1945 et 1974, il a été l'amant à Londres de la romancière anglaise Nancy Mitford, qui vint ensuite vivre à Paris.
Il eut une grande influence dans les milieux gaullistes et dans le gouvernement de la France.

Le salon littéraire de Madame de la Briche

On trouve dans le musée des tableaux, reliques et costumes de l'époque du salon littéraire de Madame de La Briche. Ce salon se tenait au Château du Marais.
En effet, fin mai, Madame de La Briche prenait ses quartiers d’été au Château du Marais jusqu’au début d’octobre. Elle recevait une société où l’on trouvait aussi bien le vieil amant de Sophie d'Houdetot, le poète Jean-François de Saint-Lambert, le fabuliste Florian – qui parle du Marais comme de « la terre promise » –, l’abbé Morellet, Jean-François de La Harpe,Suard, François-René de Chateaubriand. Son lecteur, Laborie, également précepteur de Caroline devint secrétaire particulier deTalleyrand au ministère des Relations extérieures avant de fonder en 1804 le Journal des Débats avec son ami Louis-François Bertin.
Elle réussit à traverser la Révolution française sans être le moins du monde inquiétée et mourut fort âgée sous la monarchie de Juillet.


Le Musée de la Courlande

Le musée présente une importante iconographie qui permet un voyage dans l’histoire de France et la compréhension des alliances Talleyrand et Courlande.
En 1808, le châtelain de Valençay abandonnait les princes d’Espagne en résidence forcée, pour assister à l’entrevue d’Erfurt entre Napoléon et le tsar Alexandre Ier. C’est là qu’il se lia avec l’une des femmes les plus influentes de la cour de Saint-Pétersbourg, Anne Charlotte Dorothée de Medem, veuve de Pierre Biron, duc de Courlande. Est-ce son aversion pour la démesure napoléonienne ou bien l’intelligence et le charme de cette femme encore jeune de ses 47 printemps ? Talleyrand incita dès lors en sous-main le tsar à résister aux avances de l’empereur des Français. Et pour sceller son rapprochement, il négocie le mariage de son neveu Edmond avec la cadette des quatre filles de la mûre et sémillante duchesse, Dorothée, âgée d’un peu plus de 15 ans : l’union fut célébrée en avril 1809.